Cocktail ShakerI’ve had a few cocktails in my day. I’ve had Whiskey Sours, Gin and Tonics and Screwdrivers, Bloody Marys, Margaritas and Rob Roys. I’ve had fruity drinks like Mai Tais and Banana Daquiris and manly drinks like Martinis and Gimlets. I’ve also had goofy drinks like Harvey Wallbangers and for some reason I feel like dancing a Charleston whenever I even read the words, Sloe Gin.

I live in a big city and I know there is a cocktail named for its most famous borough. What I didn’t know was that there was a cocktail named for yet another of its boroughs.

You can rule out a Queens and a Brooklyn and if there is such a concoction as a Staten Island I’m not drinking it, but you can imagine my surprise when I lifted a humble little cocktail shaker in a second hand shop the other day only to discover the recipe for a Bronx.

shaker_4_webA quick search on the net and I learned the history of this other New York cocktail. Like many drinks, culinary favorites and phrases it has many parents, some legitimate others barely emerge from the shadows.

There are still many cocktails I’ve never had and some I have no desire to sample but the one that has piqued my curiosity is the Bloody Caesar. Created in Calgary, Alberta more than forty years ago, over 250 million Caesars are sold each year in Canada alone! The country only has about 30 (million) people. That effectively means that every Canadian man woman and child is knocking back at least six or seven of these every year.

Well, maybe I need to do some thrift shopping in Canada. I wonder if there is a cocktail shaker with a Bloody Caesar on it.

